How to Add a User to the New Google Webmaster Tools

Here  at Boston Logic we set up a LOT of new websites for our real estate clients. We also perform a lot of website-upgrades, switching existing website URLs over to our Sequoia platform and implementing 301 Redirects in order to help ensure a smooth SEO transition to your new real estate website.

In helping our clients switch to a new website, we often have to coach our new users through the process of adding a new user to their Google Webmaster Tools account, especially now that Google Webmaster Tools has recently upgraded it’s appearance.  So, I decided to write this step-by-step guide with screenshots to help our clients (and all of our readers) with the process.

How to Add a User to Your Existing Google Webmaster Tools Account

1.  Log into your Google Webmaster Tools account at:
www.google.com/webmasters/tools/

2.  See the “Home” screen on the left sidebar of your Dashboard.

Adding a User to Google Webmaster Tools

Your Webmaster Tools Dashboard

3.  Click on the drop-down arrow next to the ‘Manage Site’ button of the website you wish to add a new User to. (You may only have 1 site listed on your dashboard, or several like the example above.)

4.  This will bring you to the ‘Verification Details’ screen for that particular website. This screen shows the Verification Attempts history for the account, as well as listing the Verified Owners. Scroll to the bottom of this screen and click the ‘Add an Owner’ button in the lower left corner.

Verification Details Screen in Google Webmaster Tools

Verification Details Screen in Google Webmaster Tools

5.  Enter the email address of the User you would like to add, then click the ‘Continue’ button.
Enter the Email Address of the New User You Want to Add

Enter the Email Address of the New User You Want to Add

6.  The User you just added will now appear in the Verification History section.

New User will appear in Verification Attempts History

New User will appear in Verification Attempts History

If you want to remove a User, just return to this Verification Details screen, and click the ‘Unverify’ link next to that User’s email address on the list of Verified Owners.

I hope this was a helpful and useful guide to those who are new to navigating Google Webmaster Tools! Be sure to subscribe to this blog, along with our Sequoia System blog, for more hints, guides, and advice on how to better leverage your website platform.

 

 

Related posts:


Leave a Reply

Connect With Us

Facebook
YouTube
Twitter
LinkedIn
social profilr